4- Topic – Face and Body

I must begin by saying, I am not a doctor and my closest personal experience to plastic surgery would be having my cheek stitched up after a bloody accident, if that even counts. It is a controversial subject I will be writing about, and my aim is not to insult.

Plastic surgery has become a widely available procedure. I have found it to have two main focuses: the cosmetic, and the reconstructive. There is a lot more stigma surrounding the former than the latter. Ultimately, I believe both to be motivated by a certain level of vanity. Of course, the reconstruction almost always improves the recipients quality of life. The ability to chew or blink isn’t something I think about usually but if I lost it, what a life. It is arguable though, that purely cosmetic surgeries also improve lives, just less directly.

From many things that I have seen and read, I believe it to be fact, how good looking people lead better lives. They posses an advantage in our world, and I’m sure many have written about that. It plays into depths of human psychology that I don’t know enough about to go into.

This industry profits upon our desire for improvement, and the need to achieve our own perception of ‘perfection’. As well, many of us have what I think of as the ‘comparison complex’. Through my observations, I have found it a human impulse to compare ourselves to others. Whether it is a physical aspect or an ability. So and so will always be better, hotter, or stronger than us. I know it can be hard to let go of those thoughts.

More importantly, our everyday person has a fragile confidence on ones self image. I think there are very few of us who don’t have at least one thing we don’t like about ourselves. Those who choose plastic surgery have only acted more drastically upon those thoughts.

I have witnessed those who have developed an obsession to what they see in the mirror, less in a narcissistic way, but full of criticism and negative judgement. Sometimes I just can’t see what they see. And we’re back onto the psychological aspect of this. This is when the mental impact and inner insecurities are dictating less what the eyes see, but what the mind thinks of it.

It is a hard line to draw, for how far is too far. When are we en route to becoming Frankenstein’s creation? And who’s right to judge how much of a medical need a procedure is? It has to be different for everyone, situations differ.

So many speak of this ‘inner beauty’. But besides ones personality, morals, or spirit, I think a huge part is simply the ability to see our own beauty. Just for a second, be perfectly happy with this amazing body we have. Then, I think, we have achieved a new level of appreciation.

The ironic thing is, I have seen amputees and other disfigured or disabled individuals who have that. Their trauma and pain must have something to do with it, brought them a different kind of strength and more. They have developed such a strong sense of who they are besides their fleshy exteriors. It’s wonderful and they are absolutely beautiful.

I have no judgement upon those who have chosen plastic surgery. As long as it’s a choice they’ve made for themselves, I hope it has helped them fundamentally become a happier and better person. Whether it is just a slight emotional thus physical change, or if that’s what they needed to be able to feel themselves. Transgender procedures have come a long way. But that’s for another post.

Thanks for reading.
– a.sea

Leave a Reply

