21- Topic – The Human Hand: Bones

Today I was a part of a research study group, and I got the opportunity to learn a little more about the human body, specifically about the human hand. I could have probably gone my whole life without ever learning what I did today, but I think this is all pretty interesting. My favorite part was the bones so I’ll just share this with you.

Just a heads up, if bones or anatomy make you squeamish, well then, you might be squeamish if you keep reading. Here’s the recap of what I learned. Hopefully there’s something new in here for you too.

The Human Hand

First off, the palmer view is when your palm is facing up, and the dorsal view is when your palm is facing down, so when you’re looking at the top of your hand. I will be talking about everything in reference to the palmer view. I don’t think we need to complicate things since I won’t be talking about tendons or muscles.

The Bones of The Human Hand

Let’s start from the wrist up. Connecting the hand and the wrist are the first three carpel bones: scaphoid, lunate, and triquetral.

From those three carpels, we have five more carpels, making a total of eight of these little bones. These five are the: trapezium, trapezoid, capitate, hamate, and pisiform.

Next up, we have the metacarpels, these bones are the first of the longer finger bones. And these are just signified in order of: thumb, index, middle, ring, and pinky. So there are five metacarpels.

The rest of the fingers are composed by fourteen phalanx bones. There are three on every finger except for the thumb. The ones connecting to the metacarpels are the proximal phalanges, next up are the middle phalanges, and the last set, also the fingertips are the distal phalanges. The thumb doesn’t have a middle phalange.

This is a dorsal view of the left hand. I think it’s the best diagram of everything I talked about above. Hope you enjoyed this and maybe learned something.

Thanks for reading!

– a.seaa

 

 

Leave a Reply

