27- Living – Best Songs to Get The Day Going

What better to kick off this list than with that classic openings sequence form the Broadway Musical “Oklahoma!”, appropriately titled “Oh What a Beautiful Mornin'”. I can’t help but smile when I hear this one, even when it’s not quite morning anymore. Besides it’s Hugh Jackman.

And if you’re not really into musicals or the tone of that song, maybe you’d like something more upbeat. How about Blue Mink’s “Good Morning Freedom”, Breaking Bad flashback anyone?

Then we have something for when we need a good ol’ kick in the butt, who better to deliver that than James Brown. Get on up!

And if you can’t get enough of Jim’s moves, I think this one will just get you going even more. This 1966 performance of “Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag” and the favorite “I Feel Good” needs no explanation. If you want to skip Ed’s introduction, James gets it going at 0:40 .

If you sat still through that, well you’re something else.

If you’re looking for something empowering, how about Elton John’s “I’m Still Standing”? That video is pretty great too.

But some days I just more in the mood for Elton’s friend Eminem telling me that I’m not alone and I can take anything on. “Not Afriad” is the one for me.

Then we have the token girl group track. Destiny’s Child’s “Survivor” isn’t my go to break up song, but it definitely gets me going. Sometimes I just listen to the instrumental of this song, those strings are life.

Now here’s the song that gets my heart racing like none other. I have to get up after this. Crown The Empire’s “The Fallout”.

If that’s not your style, then maybe this will be more your vibe. “Get Ya Hustle On” from Juvenile never fails to get me pumped up. 

Hopefully there was something in there for you. I’ve been listening and going to these songs for years for my shot of energy and one of these always gets me going. These are just my go to songs for when I need a boost in the morning or after a nap. Whatever works for you, I hope you have a great day.

Thanks for reading!

-a.seaa

 

Leave a Reply

