58- Living – Mile High

I had an idea this morning. I wanted to do something I hadn’t done in a while.

When you’re depressed, everybody will tell you to exercise. But even getting out of bed becomes a war. So it is a hard feat. Especially when you’re trying to go at it alone.

Motivation is really something you have to muster up from nothing inside your mind. You have to find or make your own reasons to really want to do it. Set an end and the you’ll do the means. It’s tricking yourself, but for your own good.

So today, I decided I really wanted to stop slacking. I’m not fat, but I’m definitely not as fit as I used to be. I was never a hardcore health nut and I never will be. I love food way too much, every meal has the option of being a cheat meal to me.

I set myself a goal, one small simple thing on my checklist. It was just a challenge to see if I could do it. I thought about it all day. I didn’t make it out the door by 8pm, but I went for it anyways. I had absolutely no excuse not to.

There is something to the fitness craze. Whether it’s all the excitement around events like the Arnold Classic, or just people attracted to good looking people, there’s so much more to it all.

There are the happy hormones and chemicals our body releases when we exercise, dopamine, serotonin, and Endorphins. But there’s also just the simple satisfaction that you did something. And looking into the mirror and feeling good, while your organs are happy with you as well.

I ended up doing a mile run. I didn’t burn myself out or anything but it was the best start I could have given myself. I started grinning somewhere in the middle. But it felt so good, I just kept going. My body had missed that exertion, and my muscles were glad to be running again. I might be sore tomorrow, but I’ll just be stronger the next day. I plan on keeping this up. This is for me. It’s part of gaining both inner and outer beauty. Being a better person and all that jazz.

The bottom line is, it feels good.

Thank you for reading!

– a.seaa

One thought on “58- Living – Mile High

Leave a Reply

