64- In Print – “My Lunches With Orson”

imageWhat a great book. This is the most refreshing thing I’ve read in a while.

It’s a great thought provoking piece of work. Every idea from the bias of biographies, to the difference between film and theater has me looped in. I love this sneak peek into a private conversation. It makes perfect sense to me that this is how Orson wanted to leave his words behind. These conversations with a friend has compiled an autobiography  in its truest form. Besides whatever edits Peter Biskind made, the thought that there are changes worried me. But I let that go, Henry Jaglom trusted him so who am I to question that.

This book is an intimate portrait of George Orson Welles that both fascinates and troubles me. He was no doubt a judgmental man, but he was also very vulnerable. It’s hard not to think to myself as I write this “What would Orson think?” or would he read it at all. His insecurities match my own.

It’s not fabrications, or edited thought. It’s funny. It’s human. It’s painful. It introduces me to things and people who I know nothing about. And I would read it again to revisit that time and place. I can just imagine sitting in the restaurant behind George and Henry and overhearing these wonderful conversations.

This is as honest as it gets.

Thank you for reading!

– a.seaa

 

 

Leave a Reply

